Wild Water


The WILD Water Commission had originally been approved for the construction costs of Phase I (getting the potable waterline from Stony Plain to Wabamun). This funding is a 90/10 split – 22.5M from the Province and 2.5M to be covered by the Commission (and its members). Construction has commenced on Phase I. The Commission was working on obtaining funding for the detailed design work for Phase II (which would see the waterline come up to the communities of Onoway, Alberta Beach, Yellowstone, Ross Haven and over to Alexis). This project had originally been broken into 3 Phases (3rd phase will see the waterline go north to the communities around Sandy Lake and Nakamun/Lac La Nonne areas), and while construction funding has only been secured at this time for Phase I the Province has approved the project as a whole, meaning funding will come for future phases we are just unsure of exactly when. In 2012/2013 we had 3 new communities join our Commission – Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation, Paul Band and the Summer Village of Kapasiwin.  In a first-of-its-kind deal, the Federal Government has already forwarded the funding to the Commission to cover the costs of getting the waterline to the two First Nation Communities – 2.2 Million.

Update as of November 2018
WILD Water Commission is the West Inter Lake District Regional Water Services Commission and is currently comprised of 19 member municipalities:    Parkland County, Lac Ste. Anne County, Town of Onoway, Village of Alberta Beach, Village of Wabamun and the Summer Villages of:  Kapasiwin, Seba Beach, Lakeview, Castle Island, Nakamun Park, Ross Haven, Sandy Beach, Sunrise Beach, Sunset Point, Val Quentin, West Cove and Yellowstone and Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation and Paul First Nation.

Phase I – construction of the Stony Plain to Wabamun line was completed and operational in 2017.    This phase has seen one truck fill station constructed and operational at Kapasiwin.

Phase II – construction from this line north to Onoway, Alberta Beach and around to Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation was completed and operational in late 2017/early 2018.    This phase has seen two truck fill stations constructed and operational, one near Alberta Beach and one on Heatherdown Road east of Hwy 43.     There is a booster station/truck fill yet to be constructed as part of Phase II which will be in Parkland County just north of Stony Plain (exact location yet to be determined).    Lac Ste. Anne County is going to construct a truck fill station just outside of Onoway and this will be owned and operated by the County not the Commission.

Phase III – the Commission has received $50,000.00 from the Province to complete the preliminary design from Onoway north/east to Sandy Beach/Sunrise Beach/Alexander First Nation, and also north/west to Nakamun Park.   Alexander is not currently a partner/member of the Commission, but they are certainly welcome and intend to join.  In this phase a truck fill is planned near Sandy Beach.

Phase IV – the Commission has received $50,000.00 from the Province to complete the preliminary design to extend the existing line west and south to Seba Beach.   In this phase, the Summer Villages of Betula Beach, Silver Sands and South View will be engaging in the conversation to determine if they wish to become a partner in this project and member in the Commission.